Costs

The following schedule of tuition and fees for Herkimer County Community College is in effect for 2013-14. All tuition and fees must be paid on or before the due date of the semester’s billing. All fees are subject to change at the discretion of the College and without notice.

Full-Time Students

Full-time study is 12 credits or more per semester.

2013-2014 Full-Time Tuition and Fee Schedule

As of publishing date. Tuition and fees subject to change.

 

Tuition Deposit *

$50

Tuition, New York State Resident

1,870

per semester

Tuition, Non-Resident

2,900

per semester

Tuition, Non-U.S. Citizen

2,900

per semester

International Student Fee

500

per semester

Activities Fee

180

per semester

Technology Fee

90

per semester

ID Fee

10

per semester

Late Registration Fee

20

Drop/Add Fee

5

per transaction

Insurance, Accident

40

per year

Malpractice Insurance (PTA, EMT Students) **

20

per year

Graduation Fee ***

40

Alumni Fee ****

40

one-time charge

* Fall semester tuition deposits are due 30 days after receipt of acceptance letter until May 31. After May 31, all tuition deposits are due seven days after receipt of the acceptance letter. Fall semester tuition deposits are non-refundable after April 30 in the year preceding the admission date for which the student is being accepted.

Spring semester tuition deposits are due 30 days after receipt of the acceptance letter. Spring semester tuition deposits are non-refundable after the 1st of December preceding the admission date for which the student is being accepted.

** Required of Physical Therapist Assistant and Emergency Medical Technician students.

*** See below.

**** Payment of this fee entitles the student to a lifetime membership in the HCCC Alumni Association, with all benefits and privileges. For example, upon graduation the alumnus will receive all publications, information on special trips, special rates at College events and other features. Affiliation with the Alumni Association provides an avenue of continued contact and support.

Part-Time Students

Part-time study is less than 12 credits per semester.

2013-2014 Part-Time Tuition and Fee Schedule

As of date of publishing. Tuition and fees subject to change.

 

Tuition, New York State Resident

$129

per credit hour

Tuition, Non-Resident

233

per credit hour

Tuition, Non-U.S. Citizen

233

per credit hour

International Student Fee

500

per semester

Activities Fee (1-11 credit hours)

12

per credit hour

Technology Fee (3-11 credit hours)

30

per semester

ID Fee

10

per semester

Late Registration Fee

20


Drop/Add Fee

5

per transaction

Graduation Fee ***

40

 


*** Required for those individuals successfully completing a degree or certificate program.

It is the policy of the Board of Trustees that no person shall receive credit, final grades, transcripts or other official recognition or be allowed to register for additional credit or non-credit courses and programs until all financial obligations to the College have been paid or satisfied. Students who have a financial obligation to the College may be subject to pay all necessary charges (including collection charges) to settle the obligation.

Other Fees-Charged Where Appropriate

2013-2014 Other Fees

As of publishing date. Tuition and fees subject to change.

 

Official Transcript Fee                                                     $5

Insufficient Funds Check

25

Parking Fines

10-35

Health Records Transfer

3

Health Services Fee

 

(full-time)

10 per semester

(part-time)

5 per semester

Readmission Fee

25

Payment Deferral Fee

50

Greens Fee (PE Majors Only)

30

Change of Program Fee (first change is free)

25

Credit by Exam

40

Library Fines

50¢/day per book

Ecology (field trips)

40

Travel & Tourism (field trips)

40

EMT/Paramedic Program Fee (second year only)

1,500

Online Course Fee (Internet classes only)

13 per credit hour (non-refundable)

PTA Licensing Exam Prep Workshop

150

PTA Licensing Fee (for each of four sequential courses)

125

Fitness Center Lab Fee (per applicable course)

45

Music Lessons (per applicable course)

180

Laboratory Fee (per applicable course)

25-35

Athletic Trainer Fee (per semester for students participating in intercollegiate athletics)

100

CPR Certification Fee                                                              35
Administrative Withdrawal Fee                                                               5

Refund Schedule for Tuition and Fees

Fall and Spring Semesters

(15 week duration)

100% of tuition and applicable fees prior to the first day of classes

75% of tuition and applicable fees during the first full week in which classes are held*

50% of tuition and applicable fees during the second full week in which classes are held

25% of tuition and applicable fees during the third full week in which classes are held

NO REFUNDS will be issued after the beginning of the fourth full week in which classes are held.

NO REFUNDS will be made without formal withdrawal.

NO REFUNDS will be made on late registration fees.

NO REFUNDS will be made on accident insurance. Coverage will continue after withdrawal for length of original policy.

Winter and Summer Intercession

(for Terms 8 weeks or less in duration)

100% of tuition and applicable fees prior to the first full day of classes

25% of tuition and applicable fees on the first day of classes

0% of tuition and applicable fees beginning the second day of classes

* For day students who pay tuition by the credit hour, “The first week in which classes are held,” shall mean the seven calendar days (or equivalent for a summer or winter term) following the first meeting of any class in which the student is enrolled.

All students receiving the Title IV federal financial aid are subject to the “Treatment of Title IV Funds Policy,” if official or unofficial withdrawal occurs prior to the 60% point of the semester. Federal financial aid which is unearned based on the length of attendance must be returned to the federal government, often resulting in an obligation to the student. Any questions should be addressed to the College’s Bursar’s Office.

HCCC Housing Corporation Residence Hall Costs

2013-2014

Campus Meadows: $ 5,860

College Hill: $6,490 (Single Room) or $5,860 (Double Room)

Reservoir Run: $6,869

All prices are per year, include utilities and are subject to change.

Miscellaneous

Activities Fee

(mandatory)

Full-time and part-time students registering for credit courses pay an Activities Fee which entitles them to a College I.D. card, attendance at activities sponsored by the Faculty-Student Association (F.S.A.), and free use of the shuttle bus. The Activities Fee is waived for students with a course load of strictly internet courses.

Technology Fee

(mandatory)

The technology fee provides computer network access including Internet and an email account.

Student Accident Insurance

(optional)

An accident insurance policy covering medical payments from accidents up to a maximum of $5,000 is available for the welfare of the students. This insurance plan covers students for twelve months of the year, twenty-four hours a day. The current premium cost is $40 per year. Student athletes must purchase this coverage. All students are encouraged to participate in this plan unless their families have adequate accident coverage.

Claims involving the accident insurance should be reported immediately to the College Bursar’s Office.

Parking

Parking rules and regulations are enforced on campus by Campus Safety. Parking fines range from $10 to $35 and must be paid within ten days of receipt of the ticket or they increase. Fines are payable at the Bursar’s Office. An appeal may be filed after the fine has been paid.

There is no fee for parking on campus, but all students are required to register their vehicles with Campus Safety. Parking permits, which are also free, are available at the College Bookstore for students who commute. For students who reside in the College Foundation owned apartments, there is an $80 parking fee per year; $50 for spring semester only.

Returned Check Fee

Any student issuing a check that is returned for insufficient funds will be charged an additional $25 fee.